States and territories around Australia have responded to Adelaide’s northern suburbs cluster by closing down borders, in some cases just days after they reopened.

Northern Territory, Tasmania and Western Australia have all declared South Australia to be a COVID-19 hotspot.

Those entering the Northern Territory from South Australia will now have to undergo a mandatory 14-day supervised quarantine upon arrival.

Anyone arriving in the territory from SA on Monday or Tuesday will not have to pay the $2,500 quarantine fee.

However, those arriving from Wednesday will need to quarantine at their own expense.

Those entering Western Australia from South Australia will also need to quarantine, the new rules coming into effect just 48 hours after border restrictions were lifted.

People entering WA will be permitted to self-quarantine and will not be subject to a fee. The change will bring arrivals from SA into line with the same restrictions on those arriving from Victoria and New South Wales.


Tasmanian Premier Peter Gutwein also announced on Monday morning that people arriving from SA will be subject to self-quarantine.

Meanwhile, New South Wales Premier Gladys Berejiklian has confirmed that the state will not be changing their border restrictions with SA for the time being.

No changes to the Queensland border have been announced as yet, however, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk tweeted that changes will be announced shortly.