Prime Minister Scott Morrison has issued a reminder to South Australia and other states who continue to have their borders shut.

South Australia, along with Western Australian and Queensland continue to effectively have closed off borders to all but essential interstate travel.

The PM reminded the states that they had agreed to lift travel restrictions under the third step of easing restrictions.

“July was the time when interstate travel was supposed to be up and running,” the Prime Minister said on Sydney radio yesterday.

“If I get planes flying between Australia and New Zealand, I want them flying between New South Wales and Queensland and Western Australia and South Australia.”

While the plans to reopen South Australia’s borders have not been revealed as yet, the July school holidays have been flagged as a possible date for the return of some interstate travel.

A travel bubble between SA, Tasmania and the ACT is thought to be the most likely first step in opening up the state to tourism once again.


Yesterday, Qantas and Jetstar announced that they will be resuming 10 flights between Adelaide and Melbourne and 7 flights between Adelaide and Sydney.