South Australia will move to lift its border restrictions with some states earlier than first expected, with changes coming into effect from tonight.

Interstate border restrictions with Western Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory will be lifted from midnight tonight.

The change means that people entering SA from those states and territories will no longer need to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

Premier Steven Marshall says that the change will mean people who recently arrived from WA, NT and Tasmania and are currently in quarantine will now be free to move into the wider community.

The announcement comes before the South Australian school holidays which begin on July 4.

SA’s borders with the rest of the nation are currently scheduled to reopen on July 20.

There had been a push to allow free travel between SA and the ACT, however the territory’s proximity with New South Wales led to health authorities deciding against the move.


There are currently 2 active cases in Western Australia, with zero active cases across Tasmania, SA and the NT.