The Adelaide Crows and Port Adelaide now know their opponents, venues, dates and times of the 2020 AFL season that both sides will hope brings more joy than 2019.

Both clubs will hail their fixtures as a win for their fans, as they attempt to sell memberships before the season begins in March next year.

The first Showdown between the teams will be a Power home game and comes early in the season on a Saturday night in Round 2. It will be broadcast live around Australia on Channel 7, which is a welcome change for the clubs who have almost always been relegated to only being shown on pay TV outside of South Australia. Port Adelaide has announced it will wear its traditional SANFL ‘prison bar’ guernsey for the match as part of its 150th year celebrations.

The all important time-slots for home games at Adelaide Oval are relatively similar between the two SA teams, the main difference being the Crows’ most common start time is on Saturday at 4.10pm, while the Power have four game in the later slot of Saturday 7.10pm.

Both teams have two Friday night home games (although one of Port’s is on Good Friday), while the Crows get an extra Thursday night. The Power play at home on Sundays four times, compared to the Crows’ three.

Both clubs found fun retro ways to announce their 2020 fixtures. The Crows had a Pokemon theme but on a Dot Matrix format, while the Power took us back to the days of the colourful, spinning Powerpoint presentations.

Home game timeslot comparison


Thursday night – Crows 1 / Power 0

Friday night – Crows 2 / Power 2

Saturday early – Crows 1 / Power 0

Saturday twilight – Crows 3 / Power 1

Saturday night – Crows 1 / Power 4

Sunday early – Crows 0 / Power 1


Sunday afternoon – Crows 1 / Power 1

Sunday twilight – Crows 2 / Power 2

Crows 2020 AFL Fixture

(All times Adelaide time, home games in bold)

R1) Sydney Swans – Adelaide Oval (Sat 21 March, 4.05pm)

R2) Port Adelaide – Adelaide Oval (Sat 28 March, 7.10pm)

R3) Brisbane Lions – Adelaide Oval (Sat 4 April, 4.05pm)


R4) Richmond – MCG (Sat 11 April, 1.15pm)

R5) Essendon – Adelaide Oval (Thurs 16 April, 7.10pm)

R6) St Kilda – Marvel Stadium (Sun 26 April, 4.10pm)

R7) Gold Coast Suns – Metricon Stadium (Sat 2 May, 1.15pm)

R8) Fremantle – Adelaide Oval (Sat 9 May, 1.15pm)

R9) Melbourne – TIO Trager Park (Sun 17 May, 2.50pm)


R10) Carlton – Adelaide Oval (Sat 23 May, 4.05pm)

R11) GWS Giants – Giants Stadium (Sat 30 May, 4.05pm)

R12) Western Bulldogs – Adelaide Oval (Fri 5 June, 7.20pm)

R13) Port Adelaide – Adelaide Oval (Sun 14 June, 3.20pm)

R14) Bye

R15) Collingwood – MCG (Sun 28 June, 12.40pm)


R16) St Kilda – Adelaide Oval (Sat 4 July, 7.10pm)

R17) West Coast Eagles – Optus Stadium (Sun 12 July, 4.50pm)

R18) Melbourne – Adelaide Oval (Sun 19 July, 4.10pm)

R19) Essendon – Marvel Stadium (Sat 25 July, 6.55pm)

R20) Richmond – Adelaide Oval (Fri 31 July, 6.50pm)

R21) Hawthorn – Uni of Tasmania Stadium (Sat 8 Aug, 4.05pm)


R22) North Melbourne – Adelaide Oval (Sun 16 Aug, 4.10pm)

R23) Geelong – GMHBA Stadium (21-23 Aug, Date/Time TBC)

Power 2020 AFL Fixture

(All times Adelaide time, home games in bold)



R1) Gold Coast Suns – Metricon Stadium (Sat 21 Mar, 6.55pm)

R2) Adelaide – Adelaide Oval (Sat 28 Mar, 7.10pm)

R3) North Melbourne – Marvel Stadium (Sat 4 April, 6.55pm)

R4) West Coast Eagles – Adelaide Oval (Fri 10 April, 7.20pm)

R5) Collingwood – MCG (Sat 18 April, 12.40pm)

R6) Western Bulldogs – Adelaide Oval (Sat 25 April, 7.20pm)


R7) Carlton – Adelaide Oval (Sat 2 May, 4.05pm)

R8) Melbourne – MCG (Sun 10 May, 2.50pm)

R9) Brisbane Lions – Adelaide Oval (Sat 16 May, 7.10pm)

R10) Hawthorn – Uni of Tasmania Stadium (Sat 23 May, 1.15pm)

R11) St Kilda – Jiangwan Stadium China (Sun 31 May, 3.50pm)

R12) Bye


R13) Adelaide – Adelaide Oval (Sun 14 June, 3.20pm)

R14) Geelong – Adelaide Oval (Sat 20 June, 7.10pm)

R15) Fremantle – Adelaide Oval (Sun 28 June, 4.10pm)

R16) Richmond – Marvel Stadium (Sat 4 July, 4.05pm)

R17) Gold Coast Suns – Adelaide Oval (Sun 12 July, 12.40pm)

R18) Sydney Swans – SCG (Sat 18 July, 4.35pm)


R19) Hawthorn – Adelaide Oval (Fri 24 July, 6.50pm)

R20) West Coast Eagles – Optus Stadium (Sat 1 Aug, 7.40pm)

R21) Essendon – Adelaide Oval (Sun 9 Aug, 4.10pm)

R22) Western Bulldogs – Mars Stadium Ballarat (Sat 15 Aug, 1.15pm)

R23) GWS Giants – Adelaide Oval (21-23 Aug, Date/Time TBC)