Severe bushfire conditions have been declared for six South Australian Districts as authorities brace for day of soaring temperatures and rising winds.

The Country Fire Service says total fire bans have been declared for the lower Eyre Peninsula, the mid-north, the Mount Lofty Ranges, Yorke Peninsula, the lower south-east and on Kangaroo Island on Thursday.

On Kangaroo Island, earthmoving equipment, water tankers and extra fire crews have been sent to strategic locations amid fears hot spots across the existing fire ground could flare.

The blaze is officially contained but the Country Fire Service says crews are still finding hotspots in various areas including Blue Gum Hill, Cygnet River and Vivonne Bay.

It was sparked by lightning on December 20 and escalated dramatically on two occasions in late December and early January.

The fire has burnt through more 210,000 hectares and destroyed more than 50 homes along with hundreds of other buildings, crops, livestock, wildlife and infrastructure including many kilometres of fencing.

It also claimed two lives, with father and son Dick and Clayton Lang killed when their car became engulfed in flames.