Yesterday afternoon SA Premier Steven Marshall announced that effective immediately the South Australian borders have shut to Queensland, Western Australia, Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory.

As concerns are sky high about the new super spreading strain of Covid, the Delta variant, SA Health are taking no risks.

The only exemptions are for essential travellers, SA residents returning, those permanently relocating to SA or fleeing domestic violence.

No changes have been made to the 100km buffer with NSW or the current travel directions for Victoria though all people from Victoria will have to get tested and isolate until they get their result.

For anyone looking to enter SA you will be assessed at the border on a case-by-case basis.

Anyone who has entered from NSW since Monday 21 June, you are now required to isolate for 14 days, having Covid tests on days 1, 3 and 13.

Premier Steven Marshall said, “We know that there has been a very significant deterioration in the situation around Australia with a very dangerous Delta variant,” Mr Marshall said.


“We need to be extraordinarily vigilant in South Australia at the moment, so we’re pleading with people here in our state, if they develop any symptoms whatsoever to go and get themselves tested.”

Professor Nicola Spurrier added to Marshall’s concerns saying “This is an enormous wake-up call. This is the biggest threat we’ve had in South Australia since our first wave.”

If you have any symptoms SA Health ask you to get tested and isolate.